Karnataka Election Results 2023: Many veterans including Jagadish Shettar failed, but Bommai saved the seat

Maintaining his winning streak since 1989, Shivakumar on Saturday defeated his nearest rival by a huge margin of 1,22,392 votes from the Kanakapura seat. Shivkumar has been elected MLA for the eighth consecutive time.

Many of the outgoing Ministers and Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government led by Basavaraj Bommai lost the elections. Bommai, however, won his fourth consecutive term from Shiggaon constituency in Haveri district by defeating his nearest rival Yasir Ahmad Khan Pathan of Congress by a margin of 35,341 votes.

BJP leader and Assembly Speaker Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri also lost

The ministers who lost the election were Govinda Karjol (Mudhol), JC Madhuswamy (Chikkanaikanahalli), BC Patil (Hirekerur), Shankar Patil Munena Koppa (Navalgund), Halappa Achar (Yelaburga), B Sriramulu (Bellary), K Sudhakar (Chikkaballapura), BC Nagesh (Tiptur), Murugesh Nirani (Bilgi), BC Patil (Hirekerur) and MTB Nagaraj (Hoskote). BJP leader and Assembly Speaker Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri also lost the election from Sirsi seat. Minister V Somanna lost elections from two constituencies Varuna and Chamarajanagar. He contested from both these seats. Minister R Ashok also contested from two constituencies. He was re-elected from Padmanabhanagar, but was defeated in the Kanakapura seat.

11 ministers of Bommai government won

It is not that all the ministers have lost. Eleven ministers also registered victories. These include Home Minister Araga Jnanendra, Science and Technology Minister CN Aswathanarayan, PWD Minister CC Patil, Animal Husbandry Minister Prabhu Chauhan, Urban Development Minister Bwarti Basavaray, Excise Minister K Gopinath, Haj and Waqf Minister Shashikala Jolle, Culture Minister Sunil Kumar, Horticulture Minister Munirathna Naidu. , Labor Minister AS Habbar and Minister of State ST Somashekar.

Some candidates belonging to political family won, some lost

The results of the Karnataka Assembly elections have not been uniform for candidates belonging to political families. These results have brought happiness for some and disappointment for others. BY Vijayendra, son of former chief minister BS Yediyurappa, has won from Shikaripura, his father’s constituency. Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge’s son Priyank Kharge has won from Chittapur seat for the third time. Janata Dal (SEKU) leader HD Kumaraswamy, son of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, won from his bastion Channapatna. The former chief minister defeated BJP’s CP Yogeshwar. On the other hand, HD Kumaraswamy’s son Nikhil lost from Ramanagaram. HD Deve Gowda’s son HD Revanna won the Hollanrasipur seat by defeating Congress’s Shreyas Patel. G. Somasekhara Reddy, brother of Bellary mining baron G. Janardhana Reddy, lost to Congress’s Nara Bharat Reddy in the Bellary City constituency.

Some benefited from changing the party

Before the assembly elections, many leaders left their party and accepted the price of another party with the belief that their boat would cross there. However, this belief of some leaders also proved to be correct. Jagadish Shettar, a former chief minister and a prominent leader of the Lingayat community, joined the Congress after the BJP denied him a ticket. Congress fielded him from Hubli-Dharwad Central Assembly but he lost his election by about 30,000 votes.

Former Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi, who left the BJP and joined the Congress just before the election, won his election from Athani. He defeated the BJP candidate by a margin of 76 thousand votes. KM Shivalinga Gowda, a three-time MLA from the Dal (Seku), had joined the Congress in April. Shivalinga Gowda won the Arsikere assembly seat on a Congress ticket. In March this year, RS Srinivas, a three-time MLA who switched from Dal (Seku) to Congress, won the Gobbi assembly seat. In December last year, Ujneshwar Basavanappa, who switched to the Congress from the BJP, defeated BJP’s Basavanagowda Patil from the Hirekerur assembly seat.

Strong BJP leader CT Ravi lost

State BJP stalwart CT Ravi lost the election. He is defeated by HD Thammaiah of INC. BJP national general secretary and four-time MLA from Chikmagalur seat CT Ravi has accepted his defeat. He tweeted that I accept my defeat. I thank the people of Chikmagalur for supporting me for so many years.

Emotional Shivkumar said, kept the promise made to Sonia

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President DK Shivakumar turned emotional on Saturday as the party’s victory in the assembly elections looked certain and thanked the Gandhi family for reposing faith in him to lead the state. He said that I had promised Sonia Gandhi that I will make you win Karnataka. Today I have kept my promise.

One day campaign, win by more than one lakh votes

Shivakumar was able to spare only a day to campaign in his constituency Kanakapura due to the hustle and bustle of strategizing the election campaign in the state. But the people of the area have so much love for him that he won by a margin of 1.22 lakh votes. Maintaining his winning streak since 1989, Shivakumar on Saturday defeated his nearest rival by a huge margin of 1,22,392 votes from the Kanakapura seat. Shivkumar has been elected MLA for the eighth consecutive time. Shivakumar got 1,43,023 votes while his nearest rival JD(S) candidate B. Nagaraju got 20,631 votes. Whereas, BJP candidate R. Ashok came third with 19,753 votes. Shivakumar’s victory margin was higher than in 2018, when he had won the seat by defeating JD(SECU) candidate Narayana Gowda by a margin of 79,909 votes.


Hello Everyone, This News Website (MATnews.in) is for You to give True News update. Our aim is to make you all aware with the true news and Knowledge About Everything. keep visiting this site to be updated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *