WhatsApp Edit Button: With the WhatsApp edit button, a message can be edited up to 15 minutes after sending.
WhatsApp is the most used instant messaging app worldwide. Crores of people stay connected with their family and friends through messages, voice calls, video calls through WhatsApp. The company continues to release new features in Meta’s proprietary wall WhatsApp. Recently, features such as reporting useless messages in group chats and silencing calls from unknown numbers were released for WhatsApp users. Now WhatsApp has released a new much-awaited feature through which users can edit the sent messages.
In the same year i.e. 2023 itself, there was news that the developers are working on such a WhatsApp feature through which a message can be edited for 15 minutes after sending it. Now WhatsApp has rolled out this edit button in beta version. This has been revealed in a latest report by WABetaInfo.
Available now for beta users Edit Button
According to the latest reports, some users are able to use the WhatsApp edit button feature on WhatsApp Android beta version 18.104.22.168. Apart from this, it has also been learned that users can edit messages in both group and individual chats.
A screenshot shows that after selecting a message, the edit button is given in the three dot menu that appears at the top of the screen. However, there is no limit on the number of times a sent message can be edited. However, WhatsApp has given 15 minutes to edit the message and after 15 minutes users will not be able to edit the message.
Similar to iMessage, WhatsApp users will be able to see whether messages have been edited or not. If you are wondering why WhatsApp has given 15 minutes to edit the message, then tell that WhatsApp has designed the edit feature as a tool through which users can correct their typing mistakes.
Currently, the edit feature is available only for select users of WhatsApp and is supported only for text messages. But it is possible that WhatsApp will make some changes in the coming time. However, WhatsApp has not yet given any information about how long this feature will be available for common users.