MP Sanjay Singh sentenced to three months in 22 years old case

The court has sentenced Sanjay Singh to three months imprisonment in a case of road blockade due to the problem of electricity and water.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Singh and former Samajwadi Party (SP) MLA Anup Sanda were on Wednesday sentenced to three months imprisonment and a fine of Rs 1,500 by a local court in Sultanpur in a 22-year-old case. .

The court of Special Magistrate (MP/MLA Court) Yogesh Yadav convicted the six accused under sections 143 (unlawful assembly) and 341 (wrongfully restraining a person) of the Indian Penal Code and sentenced them to three months’ imprisonment each. Sentenced to a fine of Rs 1,500. All of them were released on bail by the court on the plea of ​​the defense till the period of appeal.

In Sultanpur, 22 years ago, a case was filed against all in Kotwali Nagar on June 19, 2001, on charges of blocking the road, protesting and other problems including electricity and water. Then the police had filed a charge sheet in the court against seven people, including Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Singh, SP’s state spokesperson and former MLA Anup Sanda and former member Kamal Srivastava. During the trial, the accused named Prem Prakash had died.

MP Sanjay Singh said while talking to reporters that in 2001, he had protested against the electricity department as part of a democratic process when there was no electricity for 36 hours in the scorching heat. People of many parties including Congress and SP also participated in this demonstration. He said that the court has sentenced six people to three months imprisonment and a fine of Rs 1,500. We will challenge this decision of the court in the higher court, because it is everyone’s moral right to protest democratically.


Hello Everyone, This News Website ( is for You to give True News update. Our aim is to make you all aware with the true news and Knowledge About Everything. keep visiting this site to be updated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *