Since the first general election in the country, the Protem Speaker has been the Speaker of the Lok Sabha thrice, will Bhartrihari be able to work some magic?

Speaker of Lok Sabha: Before the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, the central government and the opposition are face to face on the issue of the pro tem speaker. On June 20, the government appointed Bharatiya Janata Party MP from Cuttack Bhartruhari Mahtab as the pro tem speaker. But meanwhile, one of the biggest discussions in the country is that the BJP may give Mahtab the post of Lok Sabha Speaker. Do you know that there have been 3 such occasions in India when the person who was the pro tem speaker got the chair of the Lok Sabha Speaker.

Let us tell you that it has happened three times in India that the person sitting on the chair of the Protem Speaker was made the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. These include the names of Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar, Hukum Singh and Somnath Chatterjee. In such a situation, speculations are being made whether Bhrithari Mahtab will also be able to work some magic.

Ganesh Vasudev Mavlankar

The first Lok Sabha elections were held in the country in 1952. In this, the Congress party came to power with an absolute majority. A pro tem speaker was elected to administer oath to the MPs. At that time this responsibility was given to GV Mavalankar. When it came to the election of the speaker, the Congress proposed the name of Mavalankar. In this way, Mavalankar got the chair of the first Lok Sabha Speaker. Mavalankar was an MP from Ahmedabad Lok Sabha seat. He held this post till around 1956.

Sardar Hukam Singh’s magic also worked

After GV Mavalankar, once again the same thing happened that the Protem Speaker got the chair of Lok Sabha Speaker. After the death of GV Mavalankar in 1956, Hukum Singh was made the Protem Speaker and was given the responsibility of running the House. Then in 1957 Lok Sabha elections were held and Hukum Singh was made the Deputy Speaker. In 1962, Congress proposed Hukum Singh’s name for the Lok Sabha Speaker. He held this post till around 1967. After leaving this post, he got away from active politics.


Why did 7-term MP Bhartruhari Mahtab get the chance to become the Protem Speaker instead of 8-time MP Suresh? Know this big reason

Somnath Chatterjee

In 2004, the UPA led by Sonia Gandhi gave a tough fight to the NDA. At that time, the CPM was the second largest party in the UPA. However, it refused to join the government. After this, the Congress offered the post of Speaker to the CPM. Before the Speaker election, when it came to appointing the Protem Speaker, the Lok Sabha Secretariat announced the name of Somnath Chatterjee. After administering the oath to all the MPs, the Congress proposed the name of Somnath Chatterjee for the post of Speaker. Along with the Congress party, all the parties supported his name. After this, Chatterjee was elected. When Somnath Chatterjee became the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, he was also an MP from Bolpur in West Bengal.

Lok Sabha speaker election will be held on June 26

The first session of the Lok Sabha will begin on June 24. The newly elected MPs will take oath on June 24-25. The election of the Lok Sabha Speaker is to be held on June 26. Bhartrihari Mahtab will administer the oath to all the MPs who have won the election. In simple words, BJP’s Bhartrihari Mahtab, who has become an MP for the seventh time, will work as the presiding officer until the elections are held. Mahtab has been made the Protem Speaker. If Mahtab becomes the Lok Sabha Speaker, he will also create history.


Hello Everyone, This News Website ( is for You to give True News update. Our aim is to make you all aware with the true news and Knowledge About Everything. keep visiting this site to be updated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *